Tax Credit Programs Havre de GraceDepartmentsDepartment of FinanceTax Credit Programs Homeowners Property Tax Credit Program: The State of Maryland has developed a program which allows credits against the homeowner’s property tax bill if the property taxes exceed a fixed percentage of the person’s gross income. In other words, it sets a limit on the amount of property taxes any homeowner must pay based upon his or her income. How Does One Receive The Credit? You will need to contact the Maryland State Department of Assessment and Taxation. Located at 301 W. Preston Street Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2395 (410) 767-1184 or if outside of the Baltimore Metro Area (888) 246-5941 https://dat.maryland.gov Maryland Homestead Tax Credit What is the Homestead Credit? To help homeowners deal with large assessment increases on their principal residence, state law has established the Homestead Property Tax Credit. The Homestead Credit limits the increase in taxable assessments each year to a fixed percentage. Every county and municipality in Maryland is required to limit taxable assessment increases to 10% or less each year. Application Requirement To prevent improper granting of this credit on rented or multiple properties of a single owner, a law was enacted in 2007 that requires all homeowners to submit a one-time application to establish eligibility for the credit. Further Information For questions about the Homestead Tax Credit, you may telephone (410) 767-2165 in the Baltimore metropolitan area or at (866) 650-8783 toll free elsewhere in Maryland or email the Homestead unit Additional Tax Credit information is also available at the Harford County Revenue Office. You may contact them directly at (410) 638-3450. firstname.lastname@example.org. Veterans Tax Credit: 100 Percent Disabled Veterans may apply for a tax credit from the State Department of Assessment and Taxation. An online form is available at https://dat.maryland.gov You will need to supply the following: Attach a copy of the Veteran’s Honorable Discharge or a copy of DD-Form 214 as required by law. (Maryland Annotated Code, Tax-Property Article, § 7-208) Attach a copy of the most recent rating decision of the veteran by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (“V.A.”) or a document from the V.A. indicating that the veteran is 100% permanently and totally disabled or 100% permanently unemployable. Include disability effective date. Tax Credit for approved Fire Department and Ambulance Corps Members: Each bona fide active or lifetime member of the Susquehanna Hose Company, Inc. or the Havre de Grace Ambulance Corps., Inc. shall be eligible for an annual credit towards their real property City tax bill for up to $500.00. The credit is only available for the primary residence of the member, the maximum credit per household being $1,000.00. Determination as to whether or not a member or their surviving spouse is eligible for said credit shall be made annually by the board of directors of the SHCO or the HDGAC. A list of all eligible members is submitted to the City by April first each year.